Singing Bronze

Tuesday, September 28th from 5 - 6:30pm

Joey Brink (carillon) teams up with Kaitlin Foley (soprano) and Joseph Min (carillon) to present new music for bells, electronics, and voice on the 100-ton Rockefeller carillon. Featuring three world premiers by Hunter Brown, Ashkan Behzadi, and Darlene Castro, as well as works by Joey Brink, Augusta Read Thomas, and a rediscovered work by Charles Wuorinen. Bring a picnic and blanket or chairs to the east lawn of Rockefeller Chapel (weather permitting), or walk the University of Chicago campus as the sounds descend from the tower for all to hear.


Augusta Read Thomas, Ripple Effects (2018)
Darelene Castro Ortiz, un violento chiaroscuro barroco (2021, world premiere)
Charles Wuorinen, The Bells (1966)
Ashkan Behzadi, Blue Harebell (2021, world premiere)
Joey Brink, dance beneath the moon (2019, Chicago premiere)
Hunter Brown, SLOWMUSIC (2021, world premiere)

Joey Brink, carillon 

Kaitlin Foley, soprano 

Joseph Min, carillon ‚Äč